Parliament House Factsheet

Parliament Hall was built between 1632 and 1640, and is the original home of both the Scottish Parliament, and the senior Scottish judiciary.

The Scottish Parliament sat in the building from 1640 until the Act of Union with Scotland led to its dissolution in 1707.

Parliament Hall consists of the main Hall, a lower hall (the Laigh Hall) underneath, and a now inaccessible undercroft beneath the Laigh Hall.

Parliament House is not a single, continuous space, but a collection of assorted buildings which sprang up around Parliament Hall between 1632 and 1999.

Parliament House is actually a seven story tall building, with four levels dropping down to the Cowgate, and three levels rising on the Royal Mile.

There are approximately 650 rooms within Parliament House.

Accounts for the building of Parliament Hall show that bookbinder's gold was originally used for the gilded points of the roof.

The original lintel of Parliament House, removed during renovations in the 1800s, now sits above one of the entrances to the Debating Chamber at the new Scottish Parliament at Holyrood.

The buildings of Parliament House were constructed upon the old graveyard of St Giles Kirk.

Although it was believed that all bodies had been removed prior to construction of the buildings, ground works in 2004 confirmed that bodies had remained in situ.

The National Records of Scotland were originally housed in the Laigh Hall, under Parliament Hall, until New Register House was built to accommodate them in 1861.

The Maiden, or Edinburgh's guillotine (in use from 1565-1710) was also housed in the Laigh Hall, stored there between its infrequent uses in the Lawnmarket.

Supreme Courts

